Leiby’s Ice Cream House & Restaurant is located at the corners of Routes 309 & 443, in the town of South Tamaqua, PA.
The name: “Leiby’s”
Leiby’s Dairy was established in 1927 by Daniel F. Leiby. In 1942, he sold his dairy business to his brother-in-law, Walter Zimmerman, whose sons purchased the business 14 years later. The Zimmerman family had retained the original name of the dairy as a tribute.
The original restaurant began construction in 1964, completed and opened in May of 1965. Marketing their own fresh, home-made ice cream, the Zimmerman brothers began building their empire of Leiby’s Premium Ice Cream and that business is still operated within their family to this day at their facility in the scenic Lewistown Valley (only a few miles from the restaurant). By 1976 the building had undergone several additions as the business demanded expansion. The Restaurant became famous for miles around, noted for their flavorful ice cream products, delicious pies and family dining environment.
They had decided to retire from the restaurant portion of the business in 1991 and sold the business to the Stillman family who operated the restaurant until the closing of it’s doors in December of 2007.
More recent interest in Leiby’s (the restaurant) began in May of 2015 by the Leiby family, direct descendants of Daniel F. Leiby. After many considerations, the decision was made to pursue the purchase of the property with intentions of reopening the local landmark eatery. Nearly 12 months later, the property was acquired and plans began to unravel as the Leiby family started the labor intensive process of reviving the Restaurant.
We hope to provide a family friendly dining experience with home style meals, friendly service, homemade pies and of course, Leiby’s Premium Ice Cream.